Google is preparing to gradually roll out the ability for consumer users to change their gmail username for the first time ever.
According to an FAQ update first spotted by 9to5Google, users will still be able to receive emails sent to their old address. Data stored in a user’s Google account—including photos, messages, and emails sent to the old address—will not be affected by the change.
Users will still be able to sign in to Google services like Gmail, Maps, YouTube, Google Play, and Drive using either their old or new email address. It will also remain possible to send emails from the old username, while the old email address will remain tied to the account and cannot be claimed by another user.
There are, however, still some strict limitations. According to the FAQ, users won’t be able to change their email address again, or delete the new address, within 12 months of making the change. Google has not shared firm details on when the feature will roll out, or which regions will...
Suggested Credits
Tags, Events, and Projects